Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 37
  1. #1
    Member Hammerhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Northern Virginia/D.C. area
    Posts
    50
    Reputation
    251
    Type
    Bachelor

    Talking The Supreme Court accepts the public opinion polls, mandates legal gay marriage in all states.

    http://www.foxnews.com/politics/2015...all-50-states/

    Can't say that I'm surprised, nor do I particularly care, since marriage is a dead institution to me. I think homosexuals/bisexuals/etc. should be as equally subject to the horrors - - uh, I meant JOYS - - of marriage as heterosexuals!

    There are only two possible tragedies in life: (1) Not getting what you wanted; or (2) Getting what you wanted. Who is to say which is worse?
    Hammerhead

    "Believe half of what you see, and none of what you hear." - Benjamin Franklin

  2. #2
    Senior Member Nuggets's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    2,073
    Reputation
    10309
    Type
    Neutral

    Re: The Supreme Court accepts the public opinion polls, mandates legal gay marriage in all states.

    I was just thinking about posting this as well. I'm wondering about the potential consequences for MGTOW.

    Given that gays and lesbians have been really fired up to get married, maybe it will serve as a distraction, covering up all the single heterosexual men who choose to remain unmarried. I doubt the shaming will stop, since heterosexual men are the "oppressors", but you just can't predict how SJWs will react to this.

    Maybe they'll start encouraging gay marriage and discouraging traditional marriage?
    "The hours of folly are measured by the clock; but of wisdom, no clock can measure" - William Blake

    Nuggets = chicken nuggets. First thing that popped into my head when I signed up

  3. #3
    Senior Member YourTipOfTheDay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Midwest, US
    Posts
    323
    Reputation
    1250
    Type
    Ghochelor

    Re: The Supreme Court accepts the public opinion polls, mandates legal gay marriage in all states.

    I'm glad this happened. FFS if they want to marry, let them marry, by God, I never understood the outcry.
    Some people would tell me, "Well I don't care if they get married, I just want them to call it something else! Like civil unionized or something"
    Okay so let's say if legally on the books for gays it's called "civil union" but that doesn't mean gay couples or anyone else for that matter won't just call it marriage anyway. You can't control what people call something regardless of what the law calls it.

    Good for them. Let them marry. They'll probably do a lot better with it than heteros, at least for a while - before the honeymoon-newness of the whole thing fades away.

    The family courts are probably pissed because they have to actually use their brain power to figure out who is more deserving of custody of the children if they divorce.

  4. #4

    Re: The Supreme Court accepts the public opinion polls, mandates legal gay marriage in all states.

    Getting married in 2015 is about the same as buying a VCR in 2015. It's just not relevant anymore.



    Quote Originally Posted by YourTipOfTheDay View Post
    The family courts are probably pissed because they have to actually use their brain power to figure out who is more deserving of custody of the children if they divorce.

    I suppose the more feminine one will be favored. 'Brain power' and 'family courts' don't really go together.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator William Noy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Dixie
    Posts
    3,020
    Reputation
    12871
    Type
    Dark Knight

    Re: The Supreme Court accepts the public opinion polls, mandates legal gay marriage in all states.

    Gay marriage. An issue the far right hates and the far left loves.

    So, of course the politicians keep bringing it to the forefront.

    Meanwhile they keep screwing us on issues the far left and the far right agree on--international trade, for example.

    They screwed up, though. Now that the left won, there's nothing to fight over, and a distraction they used since the 90s is now gone.

    So that begs the question, what non-issue are they going to have us fight over next?

    Or will is the next step to make gay marriage a real issue by trying to force Churches to solemnize such unions?

    Oh, and to my gay friends, welcome to the rodeo. (In all seriousness, why would someone willingly subject themselves to the jurisdiction of family law courts?)
    Last edited by William Noy; June 26, 2015 at 10:00 PM.
    Luck is what happens when preparation meets opportunity. --Seneca

  6. #6
    Senior Member Azure Nomad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    3,462
    Reputation
    16379
    Type
    Ghost

    Re: The Supreme Court accepts the public opinion polls, mandates legal gay marriage in all states.

    The government is desperate for money (marriage licenses). This was inevitable.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator William Noy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Dixie
    Posts
    3,020
    Reputation
    12871
    Type
    Dark Knight

    Re: The Supreme Court accepts the public opinion polls, mandates legal gay marriage in all states.

    Quote Originally Posted by Azure Nomad View Post
    The government is desperate for money (marriage licenses). This was inevitable.
    Then I'll tell the government what I used to tell my wife: If you find that you're constantly running out of money, spend less money. There. Problem solved.

    That'll be $60k for my consulting fee, please.
    Luck is what happens when preparation meets opportunity. --Seneca

  8. #8
    Senior Member BeijaFlor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Chesapeake Bay, USA
    Posts
    4,145
    Reputation
    13158
    Type
    Ghost

    Re: The Supreme Court accepts the public opinion polls, mandates legal gay marriage in all states.

    I'm not so concerned about gay marriage - but I'm going to be firing up the microwave popcorn when the first high-profile, acrimonious gay divorces start hitting Family Court.
    "The Red Pill is the start of the journey, not the end." - Chairborne

    "Our most dangerous enemies are men who have no loyalty to men." - William Noy

    "I am not going to sacrifice my freedom and wealth for your ideals." - Primus Pilus

    "If you can't be happy on you're own, you can't be happy -- full stop." - Wilfred

    My introduction: I Was MGTOW When MGTOW Wasn't Cool...

    My blog: Beyond The Sunset

  9. #9

    Re: The Supreme Court accepts the public opinion polls, mandates legal gay marriage in all states.

    Quote Originally Posted by William Noy View Post
    Gay marriage. An issue the far right hates and the far left loves.

    So, of course the politicians keep bringing it to the forefront.

    Meanwhile they keep screwing us on issues the far left and the far right agree on--international trade, for example.

    They screwed up, though. Now that the left won, there's nothing to fight over, and a distraction they used since the 90s is now gone.

    So that begs the question, what non-issue are they going to have us fight over next?

    Or will is the next step to make gay marriage a real issue by trying to force Churches to solemnize such unions?

    Oh, and to my gay friends, welcome to the rodeo. (In all seriousness, why would someone willingly subject themselves to the jurisdiction of family law courts?)
    Something focusing on 'transgenders' no doubt. It seems like they're slowly taking over the liberal spotlight. "A 12 year old girl dressed as a boy can't use the boy's restroom at school!!?? Well, time to grab the picket signs!"
    Last edited by Ambassador Of Apathy; June 26, 2015 at 10:54 PM.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator William Noy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Dixie
    Posts
    3,020
    Reputation
    12871
    Type
    Dark Knight

    Re: The Supreme Court accepts the public opinion polls, mandates legal gay marriage in all states.

    Quote Originally Posted by Ambassador Of Apathy View Post
    Something focusing on 'transgenders' no doubt. It seems like they're are slowly taking over the liberal spotlight. "A 12 year old girl dressed as a boy can't use the boy's restroom at school!!?? Well, time to grab the picket signs!"
    Good point. However, it might not go smoothly for them because this is a good example of SJWs being poised to eat each other.

    Women/feminist SJWs have fought hard to get exclusive female spaces while simultaneously invading every male space that comes on their radar.

    Now, all of a sudden, males can invade the most private of female spaces, and all they have to do is dress like a girl? Or even just say they feel like a girl?

    Will women go with the new SJW herd message, or will feminism split from the main SJW bunch?
    Luck is what happens when preparation meets opportunity. --Seneca

  11. #11
    Senior Member BeijaFlor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Chesapeake Bay, USA
    Posts
    4,145
    Reputation
    13158
    Type
    Ghost

    Re: The Supreme Court accepts the public opinion polls, mandates legal gay marriage in all states.

    Quote Originally Posted by William Noy View Post
    Good point. However, it might not go smoothly for them because this is a good example of SJWs being poised to eat each other.

    Women/feminist SJWs have fought hard to get exclusive female spaces while simultaneously invading every male space that comes on their radar.

    Now, all of a sudden, males can invade the most private of female spaces, and all they have to do is dress like a girl? Or even just say they feel like a girl?

    Will women go with the new SJW herd message, or will feminism split from the main SJW bunch?
    The Kilkenny Cats method of SJW management. Don't you love it?
    "The Red Pill is the start of the journey, not the end." - Chairborne

    "Our most dangerous enemies are men who have no loyalty to men." - William Noy

    "I am not going to sacrifice my freedom and wealth for your ideals." - Primus Pilus

    "If you can't be happy on you're own, you can't be happy -- full stop." - Wilfred

    My introduction: I Was MGTOW When MGTOW Wasn't Cool...

    My blog: Beyond The Sunset

  12. #12
    Senior Member ATLien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    493
    Reputation
    1526
    Type
    Bachelor

    Re: The Supreme Court accepts the public opinion polls, mandates legal gay marriage in all states.

    Quote Originally Posted by Azure Nomad View Post
    The government is desperate for money (marriage licenses). This was inevitable.
    Don't forget Divorce Lawyers who are campaign contributors... they are worried because fewer hetero couples are getting married (and divorced)

    As far as gay marriage.. I'm fine with it. For tomorrow night, I invited out a (gay) buddy from my hometown and another (gay) buddy from my old workplace out for dinner and later hit the bars. Both are in long term relationships, the first - several years... the latter over 20 years.
    My opinions are not necessarily my opinions.

  13. #13

    Re: The Supreme Court accepts the public opinion polls, mandates legal gay marriage in all states.

    I go for a hardcore libertarian stance on this one. Why should the government be involved at all? The LGBT community kept insisting to get the government out of their bedroom, and now they fought for and are celebrating for the government to be in their bedroom. They think they have won a victory, when in fact they were fighting the wrong battle.

    Sorry, I am a strong believer that the State should have NO say in marriage what so ever. That is between you, your partner and a if you believe God. (I am not religious, so it does not affect me, but religion usually is a strong part of marriage for some.)

  14. #14
    Senior Member The Prisoner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Sea of Madness
    Posts
    1,438
    Reputation
    10337

    Re: The Supreme Court accepts the public opinion polls, mandates legal gay marriage in all states.

    I remember watching an episode of "Two and a Half Men" when Charlie found out that his future father in-law was a homosexual. So of course one has to wonder in this situation "who gets the remote", okay at least I did. Well this episode answered that question for me. The two old men were cuddled up to each other and talking about fooling around. The white guy turns to the black guy and says "do you need a Viagra", the black man turns and says "your my Viagra baby". The white guy (Stacey Keetch) turns and says "aww that is so sweet. Just for that you get to hold the remote". Now remember you have to watch these two doing this, however I could not stop laughing.

    Now with Gay marriage I have to wonder, who gets all the goodies and who get's all the bills? I mean if a man and a women get divorce we know they split things 50/50. She gets the property, car, 50% of his retirement and 50% of his paycheck (possibly for life) and he get's up to 100% of the mortgage and get's to pay 100% of the health insurance and usually 200% of the child support. However to gay guys or two women, what do they do? This confuses me, do they throw both the gay guys under the bus? Two lesbians cannot both collect alimony with no third guy as a slave to pay it. Now don't get me wrong, I don't give a damn if someone is gay or not. Hell I was usually kind of envious of gays because they could not get married. The thing is that in a marriage between a man and a woman if divorce happens you know who is going to get screwed. In any gay marriage how do they decide who get's screwed? If anyone has an answer to this please post it for me. This is one of those problems that can keep me awake at night. Okay maybe it will just delay me going to sleep for a few minutes, but still that is a few minutes of sleep I am missing out on.
    Not a prisoner I'm a free man
    And my blood is my own now
    Don't care where the past was
    I know where I'm going ...OUT !!!!

  15. #15
    Senior Member Isaiah4:1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Femonto, Ontario
    Posts
    2,279
    Reputation
    8858
    Type
    Ghost

    Re: The Supreme Court accepts the public opinion polls, mandates legal gay marriage in all states.

    I am more concerned with how they want the government out of their bedroom and in their bedroom (marriage) at the same time. Why are people cheering because the government legitimized their relationship?

  16. #16
    Senior Member Canis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    FN56
    Posts
    230
    Reputation
    939
    Type
    Widowed goin' Ghost

    Re: The Supreme Court accepts the public opinion polls, mandates legal gay marriage in all states.

    Quote Originally Posted by The Prisoner View Post
    The thing is that in a marriage between a man and a woman if divorce happens you know who is going to get screwed. In any gay marriage how do they decide who get's screwed?
    I see two possibilities here. 1) The more effeminate man wins the cash and prizes, or 2) The judge will actually have to come up with a reasonable division of assets (Perish the thought!).
    A creeping police state never ceases.
    It's always about the money. - A Truism
    "A man's got to know his limitations." - Dirty Harry
    A man can be himself only so long as he is alone, and if he does not love solitude, he will not love freedom, for it is only when he is alone that he is really free.
    -Arthur Schopenhauer

  17. #17

    Re: The Supreme Court accepts the public opinion polls, mandates legal gay marriage in all states.

    Huge win for the divorce industry - no other way to spin this one.

    Divorce attorneys, marriage counselors, judges and all who are employed in the court system, even the food venders outside courthouses.......just had their pool of potential "customers" increase by a lot.

    Question: What does a lesbian bring on a second date? Answer: A U Haul Truck
    It will be entertaining to view the inevitable wave of "Lesbian Divorces" that will occur in a few years........I think all women are mentally unstable on some level....but when you have two of them together.....
    "To marry means to halve oneís rights and double oneís duties" - Arthur Schopenhauer "
    "A bachelor is a man who didnít make the same mistake once."

  18. #18
    Super Moderator William Noy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Dixie
    Posts
    3,020
    Reputation
    12871
    Type
    Dark Knight

    Re: The Supreme Court accepts the public opinion polls, mandates legal gay marriage in all states.

    Quote Originally Posted by Canis View Post
    I see two possibilities here. 1) The more effeminate man wins the cash and prizes, or 2) The judge will actually have to come up with a reasonable division of assets (Perish the thought!).
    If it's the latter, we could end up with some really good case law to apply to traditional divorces.
    Luck is what happens when preparation meets opportunity. --Seneca

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Western spiral arm of the Milky Way galaxy, out near the outskirts of the Laniakea supercluster
    Posts
    1,347
    Reputation
    3863

    Re: The Supreme Court accepts the public opinion polls, mandates legal gay marriage in all states.

    Quote Originally Posted by Isaiah4:1 View Post
    I am more concerned with how they want the government out of their bedroom and in their bedroom (marriage) at the same time. Why are people cheering because the government legitimized their relationship?
    Meanwhile in Ontario....:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IolL6Q47Cc4

    http://www.theglobeandmail.com/life/...ticle25120580/
    "A man has to be what he is, Joey. Can't break the mould. I tried it and it didn't work for me." Alan Ladd, Shane

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Western spiral arm of the Milky Way galaxy, out near the outskirts of the Laniakea supercluster
    Posts
    1,347
    Reputation
    3863

    Re: The Supreme Court accepts the public opinion polls, mandates legal gay marriage in all states.

    Quote Originally Posted by EternalBachelor View Post
    Huge win for the divorce industry - no other way to spin this one.

    Divorce attorneys, marriage counselors, judges and all who are employed in the court system, even the food venders outside courthouses.......just had their pool of potential "customers" increase by a lot.



    It will be entertaining to view the inevitable wave of "Lesbian Divorces" that will occur in a few years........I think all women are mentally unstable on some level....but when you have two of them together.....
    Imagine the fodder for reality TV shows!
    "A man has to be what he is, Joey. Can't break the mould. I tried it and it didn't work for me." Alan Ladd, Shane


Similar Threads

  1. India Supreme Court re-brands consensual sex as "rape"
    By BeijaFlor in forum News Articles
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: March 26, 2018, 8:43 PM
  2. Replies: 19
    Last Post: October 14, 2016, 8:33 PM
  3. court of public opinion
    By wayn in forum Lounge
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 22, 2014, 4:29 AM
  4. Replies: 9
    Last Post: March 12, 2014, 10:09 AM
  5. Replies: 6
    Last Post: March 8, 2014, 4:43 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •